kyrgystanKyrgyzstan, officially known as the Kyrgyz Republic, is a Central Asian country. Its capital is Bishkek, and the population is about 5.5 million. Kyrgyzstan, which once was a part of the Soviet Union Socialist Republic, is presently a member of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS). The landlocked country has sharp mountains and glaciers, and is very rich in water resources. All of its rivers end up in a closed drainage without reaching any sea. Kyrgyzstan has a huge mountain lake called Issyk-Kul. The country is known to have significant deposits of gold and rare earth metals, but is economically rated as one of the poorest countries in the region.


  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (May 2013)
  • Edited by Burton E. Swanson