chinaChina is an East Asian country situated on the western shore of the Pacific Ocean. It is a vast country, having common boundaries with as many as 14 countries. China is the world's most populous country, with a population of over 1.3 billion growing at the rate of 0.6% (2006). The country is divided into 22 provinces (sheng), five autonomous regions (zizhiqu), four directly controlled municipalities (zhixiashi) and two mostly self-governing special administrative regions, Hong Kong and Macau. China claims Taiwan to be its 23rd province. The capital city of China is Beijing.


  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (October 2012)
  • Edited by Burton E. Swanson