myammarMyanmar (certain countries still using the old name Burma) is the second largest country in Southeast Asia. Its capital is Nay Pyi Taw and the largest city Yangon. The country enjoys about 400 miles of uninterrupted coastline. The population is about 60.2 million.

 Myanmar is divided into seven states and seven regions, which are further divided into 67 districts. The districts are sub-divided into townships, sub-townships, towns, wards, village tracts and villages. In spite of being rich in natural resources, Myanmar is one of the least developed and poorest countries in the world. The infrastructure is inadequate and energy shortages common.

Myanmar lies in the monsoon region of Asia and as such its coastal areas receive heavy rainfall. The climate in summer is hot, rainy and humid while the winters have less humidity, scant rainfall and mild temperatures.



  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (July 2012)
  • Edited by Burt E. Swanson