armeniaArmenia is a Eurasian country located in the South Caucasus region. Its population is about three million, and the name of its capital is Yerevan. Although situated between the Black and Caspian Seas, Armenia is a landlocked country. It is administratively divided into 10 provinces (marz). Each province comprises one or more settlements, which are classified as either towns or villages. The total number of rural and urban communities is about 915. Armenia inherited centralized planning and state-owned large farms from the Soviet-era, but since gaining independence in 1991, it has undertaken major reforms towards privatization of land and market liberalization, earning appreciation and receiving assistance from international development institutions. 


  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (July 2013)
  • Edited by Burton E. Swanson