azerbaijanAzerbaijan, officially known as the Republic of Azerbaijan, is the largest country in the Caucasus region, located at the crossroads of Western Asia and Eastern Europe. It was a part of Soviet Union until its independence in 1991, and is now a member of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS). The country borders Caspian Sea on the eastern side. Azerbaijan’s population is about 9 million, and the name of the capital city is Baku. Not long ago, the country had a war with the neighboring Armenia which not only displaced a large number of people but also slowed down the pace of development.


  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (June 2013)
  • Edited by Burton E. Swanson