colombiaColombia is a South American, Spanish-speaking country. It is bordered by the Caribbean Sea in the north and by the Pacific Ocean in the west.  The population is 47.7 million, and the name of its capital is Bogota, located at an altitude of 2,591 meters. Administratively, Colombia is divided into 33 departments, including the capital district. The departments are sub-divided into municipalities, which are further sub-divided into corregimientos. The administrative structure is decentralized, with each department having an elected local government, headed by a governor. Colombia, a rich country in natural resources, hosts the International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT).



  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (November 2013)
  • Edited by Burton E. Swanson