romaniaRomania is an East European country bordering the Black Sea. Its capital is Bucharest and the population is about 21 million. Economically, Romania joined the European Union in 2007, and is economically rated by the World Bank as an upper-middle-income country. The country is administratively divided into 41 counties, which are administered by county councils. Each county is sub-divided into cities, towns and municipalities (total number 319) and communes (total number 2,705), which have their own mayors and local councils.


  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (July 2013)
  • Edited by Burton E. Swanson