hungaryHungary is a relatively small, landlocked country located in Central Europe. Its capital is Budapest, and the population is almost 10 million. Hungary, considered a developed country, joined the European Union in 2004. Its official language is Magyar. The country is famous for its thermal cave system including lakes, which is the largest in the world. Hungary hosts the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations Regional Office for Europe and Central Asia. The country is administratively divided into 19 counties, which are sub-divided into 174 sub-regions. There are 169 towns and 2,904 villages. Hungary has seven geographical regions. In terms of climate, summers are hot with frequent showers, although without high humidity, while winters are mild with snow falls.   


  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (October 2013)
  • Edited by Burton E. Swanson