mexicoMexico is a Spanish-speaking country located in Central America, having a 3,141 km. along the northern border with USA. The Pacific Ocean lies in Mexico’s west while the Caribbean Sea and the Gulf of Mexico border this country on its southeast and eastern sides respectively. Mexico’s population is over 120 million and the name of its capital is Mexico City. The country, which is rated as the tenth in oil production and the first in silver production in the world, is considered as an upper middle-income, newly industrialized nation. A sharp disparity exists between rich and poor segments of its society. Mexico is a federation of 31 sovereign states. The states are administratively divided into municipalities, governed by elected heads.


  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (November 2013)
  • Edited by Burton E. Swanson