algeriaAlgeria is a North African country located on the Mediterranean coast. Its population is about 38 million, and the name of its capital is Algiers. Both Arabic and French languages are spoken. Algeria is the largest country in the Mediterranean region. Its economy mostly depends on oil exports. The country is administratively divided into 28 provinces (wilayas), which are further divided into 553 districts (dairas). The districts are subdivided into 1,541 municipalities (baladiyahs).

The southern part of Algeria is mostly desert, the day time temperatures are quite high throughout the year while nights are typically cool. Rainfall is substantial along the coastal areas especially in the northern part of eastern Algeria. Sand dunes are located between mountains.


  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (August 2013)
  • Edited by Burton E. Swanson