turkmenistanTurkmenistan is a Central Asian country, also known as Turkmenia, located on the 1,099-mile long eastern shore of the Caspian Sea. The population is about five million, which makes it the least populated country among the former Soviet republics in the region. Turkmenistan’s capital is Ashgabat. The country is rich in natural gas, oil and coal as well as in rare metals and minerals. Turkmenistan is administratively divided into five provinces (welayatlar), which are sub-divided into districts (etraplar).


  • Authored by M. Kalim Qamar (July 2013)
  • Edited by Burton E. Swanson